State, Train Stations, Industry Infrastructure, Uncategorized

Upgraded Woodlands Park Railway Station now open

The upgraded Woodlands Park Railway Station is now open, providing train goers with a safer and more comfortable experience at the station.

Following a three-month closure to complete the upgrades, Seaford and Flinders line train services will resume servicing the station from first service Monday 8 April 2024.

The $4.5 million upgrade included:

  • re-configuration of the existing shelter structure, including demolition of the northern platform building (redundant ticket office),
  • upgrade to the platform amenities including seating, bins, weather screens and platform voice annunciator,
  • improved platform shelter lighting,
  • improved underpass lighting,
  • platform resurfacing including new line marking and installation of tactiles,
  • new wayfinding signage,
  • installation of CCTV and upgrade to the Passage Information Display Screens.

The Woodlands Park Railway Station upgrade was completed as a part of the station refresh program.

Railway stations across Adelaide have been identified for makeovers as part of an initiative to refresh railway stations on the metropolitan rail network.

The program will be delivered by the Department for Infrastructure and Transport and will improve amenity and safety at railway stations on Adelaide’s passenger rail network.  The works will include new and refurbished shelters, new seating and bins, LED lighting upgrades, and other minor works such as painting and landscaping.

Stations to be upgraded by 2026 include:

  • Alberton Railway Station – in design
  • Clarence Park Railway Station – underway
  • Ethelton Railway Station – in design
  • Nurlutta Railway Station – underway
  • West Croydon Railway Station – in design
  • Woodlands Park Railway Station – in design

Stations completed:

  • Dry Creek Railway Station
  • Dudley Park Railway Station
  • Gawler Central Railway Station
  • Gawler Oval Railway Station
  • Greenfields Railway Station
  • Islington Railway Station
  • Kilburn Railway Station
  • Kudla Railway Station
  • North Adelaide Railway Station
  • Ovingham Railway Station
  • Salisbury Interchange
  • Smithfield Railway Station
  • Tambelin Railway Station
  • Womma Railway Station
  • Ovingham Railway Station