Stephen Cantwell named TasRail chair

Samantha Hogg will leave TasRail as chair and Stephen Cantwell will take over from 1 January 2020.

“I would like to take the opportunity to thank outgoing chair, Samantha Hogg, for her dedication and contribution to TasRail over the past four and a half years,” minister for infrastructure and transport Michael Ferguson said Wednesday.

“Ms Hogg has been instrumental in providing oversight of the financial governance and risk management practices at TasRail, helping to set it up for future success.”

Hogg oversaw the delivery of Tranche One of the Freight Rail Revitalisation Program (FRRP), during her term as the TasRail chair. She is non-executive director at Infrastructure Australia, Australian Renewable Energy Agency, Tasmanian Irrigation, MaxiTRANS and Hydro Tasmania.

Incoming chair Cantwell is Cantwell is non-executive director at Port of Brisbane, Queensland Rail and TasRail. He has operational experience in freight rail, heavy industry, mining and ports.

“With the delivery of tranches Two and Three of the FRRP, a new shiploader to build and new customer projects all occurring in the next four years, Stephen’s operational and commercial know-how will be a great asset to TasRail,” Ferguson said.