Thursday 20th Feb, 2020

Steven Marshall appoints SAPTA board members

Photo: Nathan Warner / Creative Commons

The South Australian Government will add four new members to the board of the South Australian Public Transport Authority Advisory (SAPTA) board from July 1.

The appointments coincide with the transition of South Australian public transport services from the Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure (DPTI) to SAPTA on the same date.

SAPTA will be charged with the delivery of customer-focused reforms for South Australia’s public transport network. Adelaide has some of the lowest rates of public transport use in Australia, with around 84 per cent of workers choosing to commute to work by car according to 2018 figures from the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS).

The four members set to join are Reece Waldock, Monica Ryu, Fergus Gammie and Chris Vounasis, all of whom bring several years of industry experience to the board. 

Waldock is the former chief executive officer of the Western Australian branch of the PTA, while Gammie is a former chief executive of the New Zealand Transport Agency. Vounasis holds more than 18 years of experience in local government and the private sector while Ryu brings over 20 years of experience in transport innovation

Waldock will act as the board’s presiding member, reporting to SA Minister for Transport, Infrastructure and Local Government Stephan Knoll.

“We have assembled an experienced team with great technical expertise that will provide frank and fearless advice to government,” Knoll said.

“Public transport patronage growth has basically stalled over the last decade and we need to provide a better service to encourage more South Australians to catch a bus, train or tram.”

Warning: Use of undefined constant essb_rs_mailform_code - assumed 'essb_rs_mailform_code' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/forge/ on line 56

Send this to friend