AusRAIL, Freight Rail, Passenger Rail, Rail Supply, Research & Development, Safety, Standards & Regulation

Nye, Tanner to leave ARA

Rail turnout - RISSB

Australasian Railway Association chief executive Bryan Nye will leave the organisation by April 30, following the association’s split with the Rail Industry and Safety Standards Board (RISSB) announced earlier this year.

ARA chairman Lindsay Tanner will also leave the association following the end of his term this year.

“This is a new phase for the ARA, and it will be led by a new CEO, following the decision by existing CEO Bryan Nye to stand down as of 30 April 2015,” Tanner said this morning.

“Bryan has made an enormous contribution to the industry since he was appointed as CEO of the ARA in 2003, some twelve years ago.

“In January 2014 he was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia for services to the rail transport industry, and to the business sector.

“On behalf of all of its members, the ARA would like to thank Bryan for his leadership over the past 12 years and wish him the very best for the future.”

Tanner continued: “After a two year period assisting the organisation with its transition I will finish my term in April 2015.”

Bob Herbert has been appointed as interim chair to complete the review process.

The ARA has been undergoing lengthy reviews in recent months, with the first major result being the announcement of the separation of the ARA and RISSB.

“This decision was aimed at driving further progress in improving rail’s safety and productivity and to more closely align to the objectives of the newly established Office of the National Rail Safety Regulator (ONRSR),” Tanner said of the split.

RISSB will be formally established as a separate body on July 1.

“The ARA is now well positioned to review its own important role within the industry as the peak representative body for rail,” Tanner concluded.

“This review is being led by a sub-committee of the ARA Board and will be completed over the next three months.”

Send this to a friend