Appointments, Freight Rail

New freight body for NSW

Fifteen members have been appointed to the new NSW Freight Transport Advisory Council (FTAC), to be chaired by Duncan Gay.

Congratulating the inaugural members and the incoming chair, Regional Transport and Roads Minister Sam Farraway said the new appointees came from a wide cross-section of industry, including road and rail bodies, intermodal operators, port representatives, couriers, retailers and producers.

“The new body will not only discuss freight and supply chain issues, but provide input into Government strategies, policies and projects,” he said.

“The wealth of industry leadership and experience on the council will mean better outcomes for the freight sector, which is expected to increase by 28 per cent to see 618 million tonnes moving across our state by 2036.”

The new council replaces the Freight and Logistics Advisory Council and the Road Freight Industry Council, to represent the entire freight chain across different transport modes as a single council.

The new Council will meet four times a year, with the first meeting to be held in June.

New appointees will remain on the Council for a term of two years.

The new appointees are:

  • Chair – Duncan Gay
  • Port of Newcastle –  Craig Carmody
  • National Road Transport Association (NatRoad) – Warren Clark
  • Ron Crouch Transport – Geoffrey Crouch
  • Woolworth Group – Rick Dani
  • Qube –  Paul Digney
  • Ports Australia – Michael Gallacher
  • Freight on Rail Group – Andrew Harding
  • Namoi Cotton – Allan Neil Johns
  • DHL – Leslie Logue
  • Livestock Bulk and Rural Carriers Association (LBRCA) – Paul Pulver
  • Monidale VGL – Scott Walker
  • Australasian Railway Association – Caroline Wilkie
  • Australian Logistics Council – Brad Williams
  • Road Freight NSW – Austin Vella