Rail safety awards deadline looms

The 2022 Rail Industry Safety and Standards Board Conference is only three weeks away, with a two-day action-packed agenda, recognised international and local speakers, and a unique and memorable dining experience at the end of day 1.

This new awards program is designed to recognise and celebrate individual and company safety achievements in the rail industry and promote diversity, excellence and innovation for the betterment of rail.

All businesses irrespective of size or stature are encouraged to enter across five award categories.

· Safety Leadership Program/Initiative

This category recognises programs within organisations that promote and improve the overall safety capability of the wider organisational leadership team (Directors, Managers and frontline Supervisors).

· Wellbeing Program Incorporating Mental Health

This category is seeking to identify and celebrate the best wellbeing program that builds resilience and belonging within the organisation and recognises the emerging challenges to the workforce.

· Industry Safety Professional of the Year

The overall achievements of a safety professional in improving the health, safety and wellbeing outcomes within a team or organisation.

· Safety Initiative by a Young Rail Employee (Under 30)

This award is for excellence and innovation and will be granted to an eligible young rail worker in the rail industry to recognise and encourage their contribution to the field of safety.

· Worker Improvement Outcome

This category seeks to identify a worker who has championed safety protection arrangements either as a Protection Officer, Depot Protection or similar, to provide exemplary safety outcomes for their co-workers over the past 12 months.


The RISSB Rail Safety Awards are open to any individual working in the rail industry and organisation operating in or affiliated with rail in Australia and New Zealand.

Nominations can be made by the nominee themselves or by another person/party.

Complete the nomination form and send in supporting documentation to info@rissb.com.au by 5PM Monday, 18 April.

Please use the words SAFETY AWARDS 22 in the subject line.

The finalists of each category will be invited to attend the Rail Safety Conference dinner on Tuesday, 3 May where the winners will be announced.