AusRAIL, Below Rail Infrastructure, Engineering, Environment and Sustainability, Freight Rail, Passenger Rail, Rail Supply, Research & Development, Rolling stock & Rail Vehicle Design, Safety, Standards & Regulation, Signalling & Communications, Technology and IT, Workforce, Certification & Training

ARA names Next Generation Scholarship winners

The Australasian Railway Association has announced the six rail graduates who have won AusRAIL 2017 Next Generation Scholarships.

ARA boss Danny Broad announced the names last week, saying he was pleased to highlight the innovative ideas of young individuals.

“The ideas of the recipients of the AusRAIL PLUS 2017 Next Generation Scholarship vary from focusing on targeting classrooms, hosting workshops and promoting the rail industry in lecture halls through industry partnerships with schools, TAFE and universities to creating mobile rail gaming apps,” Broad said.

“The winners are commended for their innovative approaches in being able to think about alternative methods of communicating to individuals in a way that promotes the rail industry positively.”

Six rail graduates were selected:

  • Alice Jordan-Baird, Project Advisor, Corporate Affairs & Communications, Transdev
  • Nicola Chung, Rail Networking Analyst, Transport for NSW
  • Asimina Vanderwert, Graduate Engineer, Metro Trains Melbourne
  • Maxim Karpyn, Instrumentation Engineer, Bombardier Transportation Australia
  • Jase Berry, Graduate Engineer/Lam-Thien Vu, Systems Engineer, Shoal Engineering.

Scholarship winners will receive complimentary attendance to the AusRAIL PLUS 2017 Conference and Exhibition, including the Welcome Reception, Exhibition Networking event, RTAA Yellow Tie and Gala Dinners, in November this year.